History, geography and way of life


Norge i Verden

Norway in the world

The surface area of Norway is 385,199 square kilometres. This means that Norway is smaller than, for example, Thailand, Iraq, Turkey and Somalia. Norway is a very long and narrow country. The distance between Oslo and Tromsø in the north of Norway is almost the same as from Oslo to Paris.

Norway is part of the Nordic countries, consisting of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Iceland. Norway also makes Scandinavia together with Sweden and Denmark.

Norway share a common border with Sweden, Finland and Russia.


Norway is divided into five geographical regions: Northern Norway, Trøndelag, Western Norway, Southern Norway and Eastern Norway.


There are 11 counties in Norway. They break down between the different regions as follows:
Northern Norway: Nordland and Troms og Finnmark
Trøndelag: Trøndelag
Western Norway: Vestland, Rogaland and Møre og Romsdal
Southern Norway: Agder
Eastern Norway: Vestforld og Telemark, Viken, Innlandet and Oslo
Norgeskart og flagg

Towns and cities

There are nearly 100 towns and cities in Norway. Oslo is by far the largest city with more than 600 000 inhabitants. Some of the largest cities are:

      • Oslo


    • Bergen


    • Trondheim


  • Stavanger
  • Kristiansand
  • Fredrikstad
  • Tromsø
  • Sandnes
  • Drammen
  • Sarpsborg
  • ssb.no

Other geographical facts

      • Norway’s highest mountain is called Galdhøpiggen. It is 2,469 metres high.

    • The largest lake is Norway is called Mjøsa. It has a surface area of 365 square kilometres.
    • The longest river in Norway is the Glomma. It is 611 kilometres long.
    • There are numerous fjords along the coast, the longest of which is Sognefjord. It is 204 kilometres long and 1,308 metres deep at its deepest point.


  • Nearly half of Norway’s surface area consists of mountains, and about a third of the country is forested. Built-up areas (buildings and roads) make up only 2% of Norway.


Geographical and administrative division

Norway is divided into five geographical regions. Administratively, the country is divided into 11 counties and 356 municipalities.

Mountain and forests

Around half of the surface area in Norway is made up of mountains and around 30% is forested. Only three percent of Norway is cultivated land.